CALL US! or TEXT US! : 514-581-4456 / info@bugbusters.biz

WE ARE SPECIALISTS

The chafer grub is the larva of the chafer bug or june beetle

Latin name: Melolonthinae

Signs of infestation:

The larvae that cause damage to lawns. The signs of their presence are unequal plates yellow or dead grass that can detach easily and holes in the lawn dug by skunks or raccoons, fond of these insects. We see the damage appear in early spring and early August.

Appearance:

Adult:

They are beetles that come out in the evening or at night, sometimes called ” barbel ” They have dark brown and shiny shell and they are between 10 and 13 mm long. They have a loud and characteristic flight.
Larva

– Big worm creamy white with tiny hairs, brown head,

– Body bent into a ” C ”.

– 3 pairs of legs often a little darker.

– Size: 2-4 centimeters long.

Reproduction:

These insects breed on a twelve-month cycle so they spend the winter underground.

From mid-June to mid-August the adults lay their eggs in the grass, the larvae will hatch two or three weeks later and they will gorge on roots for accumulating energy necessary for their growth and their overwintering. In mid-October, larvae descend deeper into the ground (25 cm or more) for the winter. In spring, when the snow melts, the larvae wake up and just go back in the grass to eat as much of the roots again. When they are force-fed, they descend deep into the ground once again to transform into adult will emerge from the earth between mid-May and mid-June to begin the cycle.
habits:

Adults are not harmful and seem to prefer among others, the nearby fruit trees, silver maples and birches. Their nocturnal flights are used for acccouplement and females mated once will immediately lay their eggs.

The larvae, they constitute the real problem, they feed on grasses and hardy plants but their favorite places is the bluegrass of Kentucky, ie the grass of your lawn. They are terribly greedy and they literally cut the roots of the grass blades at one or two centimeters under the ground.
Prevention:

The best prevention for white worms is to keep a healthy lawn and provided at all times. (Make fertilizer). Moreover, it is advisable to leave the grass longer 8 cm or 3 inches) during adult flight. (Mid-June to mid-August) and not to over water when the eggs and young larvae are present, ie from mid-July to mid-August … We also recommend you to plant clover or other hardy species instead of your lawn. It may sound unbelievable but that’s what the experts recommend.

NOW, WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW.

If you like your lawn read this:

If you find more than 5 per square foot to the damage to your lawn can be considerable.

The grass is a plant that was imported by the English to be able to mimic the gardens and castles of England requires “huge amounts of water for maintenance and often fertilizer to become very thick. We must come to the obvious: the advice you are given for removal of naturally white grubs are contradictory and unhelpful. The longer you let the long grass, the more it will require water to maintain it and if you water less as you recommended, it will wither more quickly than white grubs. The fertilizer we suggest you épendre on your lawn may as well go down into the groundwater and contaminate water and affect more than insecticide.

Nematodes also is recommended to use, small parasitic insect grubs. This is interesting in appearance, but treatments are expensive and according to rudeur winters, they die in large part to kill and not enough to make a difference.

You should also know that © Merit, trade name of the insecticide Imidacloprid is that most white to processing companies use to solve the problem. It is part of the neonicotinoid family, a variety of pesticides banned in the European Union because of its terrible effects on bees and other pollinators. This insecticide into the plants and poisons the insects that nourish.

Liquid insecticides used by lawn care companies are not good solutions for the rain (quite common in Quebec) dilutes its effect, moves on the lawn and makes it less effective to the exact spot where he had to act .

 

OUR POSITION:

ORGANIC DOES NOT WORK, YOU HAVE TO ACT WISELY.

Because of our changing seasons, we understand that it is impossible to ask you to cut your or long grass and watering your lawn more or less than one week to another.

We believe the benefits of insects and we will not kill bees and other pollinators.

THEREFORE: We propose to get rid of your grubs with a smaller dose of a granular residual insecticide, which gradually dissolve in rainfall patterns in your lawn and will degrade in the environment later. It has been proven and is safe for bees and we will spread the only places at risk or affected.

Surface treatments must be made by experts because they must comply with government regulations and municipal regulations.

CALL US! or TEXT US! : 514-581-4456 / info@bugbusters.biz

APPELEZ–NOUS! OU TEXTEZ-NOUS! : 514-581-4456 / info@bugbusters.biz

NOUS SOMMES DES SPÉCIALISTES

Les Vers Blancs ou la larve du Hanneton

Nom Latin: Melolonthinae

 Signes d’infestation:

Ce sont les larves qui causent les dommages aux pelouses. Les signes de leur présence sont des plaques inégales de gazon jauni ou mort qui peuvent se détacher facilement et des trous dans la pelouse creusés par des mouffettes ou des ratons laveurs, friands de ces insectes. On voit les dégâts apparaitre tôt au printemps et au début d’aout.

 Apparence:

 Adulte:

Ce sont des coléoptères qui sortent le soir ou la nuit, on les appelle des fois  »Barbots » Ils ont la carapace brun foncé et luisante et ils font entre 10 et 13 mm de long. Ils ont un vol bruyant et caractéristique.
Larve

– Gros ver blanc crème avec des petits poils, tête brune,

– Corps recourbé en forme de  »C ».

– 3 paires de pattes souvent un peu plus foncées.

– Taille: 2-4 centimètres de long.

Reproduction:

Ces insectes se reproduisent sur un cycle de douze mois donc ils passent l’hiver sous la terre.

De la mi-juin à la mi-aout les adultes pondent leurs oeufs dans le gazon, les larves vont éclore deux ou trois semaines plus tard et elles vont se gaver de racines pour accumuler l’énergie nécessaire à leur croissance et a leur hivernation. Vers la mi-octobre, les larves descendent plus profond dans le sol ( 25 cm et plus ) pour passer l’hiver. Au printemps, dès la fonte des neiges, les larves se réveillent et remontent juste sous le gazon pour manger le plus possible de racines encore une fois. Quand elles sont gavées, elles redescendent profondément dans le sol une fois de plus pour se transformer en adulte, qui émergera de la terre entre la mi-mai et la mi-juin pour recommencer le cycle.
Habitudes:

Les adultes ne sont pas dommageables et semblent préférer entre autres, la proximité des arbres fruitiers, des érables argentés et des bouleaux. Leurs vols nocturnes servent à l’acccouplement et les femelles une fois fécondées vont immediatement pondre leurs oeufs.

Les larves, elles, constituent le vrai problème, elles se nourissent de graminées et de plantes rustiques mais leur met préféré c’est le paturin du Kentucky, c’est à dire le gazon de vos pelouses. Elles sont terriblement voraces et elles coupent littéralement la racine des brins de gazon à un ou deux centimètres sous le sol.
Prévention:

La meilleure prévention pour les vers blancs est de garder un gazon fourni et sain en tout temps. (mettre de l’engrais). De plus, il est conseillé de laisser le gazon plus long 8 cm ou 3 pouces ) pendant le vol des adultes. ( mi-juin à mi-aout) et de ne pas trop arroser quand les oeufs et les jeunes larves sont présentes, c’est à dire de la mi-juillet à la mi-aout… On vous recommande aussi de planter du trèfle ou d’autres espèces rustiques à la place de votre gazon. Ca peut sembler incroyable mais c’est ce que les spécialistes recommandent.


MAINTENANT, CE QUE VOUS DEVEZ SAVOIR
.

Si vous aimez votre gazon lisez ceci:

Si vous retrouvez plus de 5 vers par pied carré, les dommages à votre pelouse peuvent être considérables.

Le gazon est une plante qui a été importée par les Anglais pour pouvoir imiter les jardins des châteaux d’Angleterre et nécessite d”énormes quantités d’eau pour son entretien et très souvent des fertilisants pour qu’il devienne très touffu. Il faut en venir à l’évidence: les conseils que l’on vous donne pour vous débarasser naturellement des vers blancs sont contradictoires et peu utiles. Plus vous laissez le gazon long, plus il nécessitera d’eau pour l’entretenir et si vous arrosez moins comme on vous le recommande, il dépérira encore plus rapidement qu’avec des vers blancs. L’engrais que l’on vous suggère d’épendre sur votre gazon peut tout aussi bien descendre dans la nappe phréatique et contaminer l’eau et nuire plus qu’un insecticide.

On vous recommande aussi d’utiliser des nématodes, des petits insectes parasites des vers blancs. C’est intéressant en apparence, mais les traitements sont coûteux et selon la rudeur des hivers, ils meurent en grande partie et ne tuent pas assez de vers pour faire une différence.

Vous devez aussi savoir que le Merit©, nom commercial de L‘imidaclopride est l’insecticide que la plupart des compagnies de traitement de vers blancs utilisent pour régler le problème. Il fait partie de la famille des néonicotinoïdes, une variété de pesticides bannis de l’Union Européenne à cause de ses effets terribles sur les abeilles et autres pollinisateurs. Cet insecticide entre dans les plantes et empoisonne les insectes qui s’en nourissent.

Les insecticides liquides utilisés par les compagnies d’entretien de pelouse ne sont pas de bonnes solutions car la pluie ( assez fréquente au Québec ) dilue son effet, le déplace sur la pelouse et le rend moins efficace à l’endroit précis où il devait agir.

 

NOTRE POSITION:

LE BIO NE FONCTIONNE PAS, IL FAUT AGIR INTELLIGEMMENT.

A cause de nos saisons changeantes, nous comprenons qu’il est impossible de vous demander de couper votre gazon plus ou moins long et d’arroser plus ou moins votre pelouse d’une semaine à l’autre.

Nous croyons aux bienfaits des insectes et nous ne voulons pas tuer les abeilles et autres pollinisateurs.

DONC: Nous vous proposons de vous débarasser de vos vers blancs avec une dose plus petite d’un insecticide résiduel granulaire, qui se dissoudra graduellement au rythme des pluies dans votre pelouse et qui se dégradera dans l’environnement par la suite. Il a fait ses preuves et est sans danger pour les abeilles et nous n’allons le répandre qu’aux endroits à risque ou affectés.

Les traitements extérieurs doivent ëtre faits par des experts car ils doivent respecter des normes gouvernementales et des règlementations municipales.

APPELEZ–NOUS! OU TEXTEZ-NOUS! : 514-581-4456 / info@bugbusters.biz